top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

A Letter to Grandpa

Dear grandpa,


This thought came when I saw you sitting on your wheelchair. I looked at your grey hair and the expression that was shown on your face. Wrinkles, eye bags, and when you smiled you lost some of your teeth and I didn't exactly remember the last time you did it.


I remember when I was younger, you still drove a car by yourself. You drove your car to my home and picked me up so I could stay for days with you at your house with other cousins and family. We had fun.


You never let any strands of your hair become grey so you always colored it but I didn't know. Perhaps you asked someone to do it then every time I came, your hair always looked black.


You seemed very strong until this thought was written. Again, I saw you sitting there on your wheelchair. Alone. Nobody knew what you were thinking but we would do anything when you felt hurt.


Your feet are weak now. You can't make any movement but let us push your wheelchair. You don't even tell us where you want to go. We just slowly push your wheelchair and let you enjoy that.


You are very weak. I should not tell you how old you are because when you look at yourself on the mirror, you can guess that. Or you don't need to do that.


You are not the man I saw in 10 years ago. You become the man who sits on a wheelchair, lets the grey hair stay and accepts the fact that you can't drive a car by yourself anymore.


Meanwhile I am thinking about myself. Sooner or later, I am surely gonna be like you.


But let's just forget it for awhile. It's a long process, still a long way to go. Now I look at you and whisper this to you ;


I love you.




bottom of page