top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

My Minimalist Kits For Graduation Makeup

October has been tough for me! There were some activities (and problems, of course) I needed to face. Started from working in West Jakarta area which is too far away from my reach and realized that I would be graduated, I think that this 2017's October is the greatest month I have this year. Besides, I also had my 22nd birthday last month.


OK, I was graduated and it happened on October 28 2017 at Balai Sudirman, Pancoran, South Jakarta. What I am going to tell today is not about the ceremony or gifts I received, but the makeup! Yup, as the person who owns very sensitive skin, I must be very selective in finding the right cosmetics for my skin. Actually I had shared and mentioned cosmetics that I wore for my graduation through Instagram's Insta Story but this post will help you better. Here they are







1. Morning Cream and Sunscreen - Dr. Dewi Martini SpKK


These creams are the most important items I need to put on my face before applying cosmetics. It's a must to apply these creams everyday before you go out in the morning or whenever the sun is still up. You know, the sunlight is good but it is also dangerous. To protect the skin, you must wear sunscreen about 30 minutes before stepping out. According to the research, the best sunscreen has SPF (Sun Protector Factor) 30 and it is enough to protect your skin from the sun. I had experienced it going out without applying sunscreen for 1-2 months and now I regret it (will be posted soon).


I don't remember why Dr. Dewi Martini SpKK, my dermatologist gave me the morning cream but the texture is lighter than my sunscreen. I used this morning cream as a moisturizer before applying cosmetics for my graduation and these creams really helped making the separation between skin and cosmetics.



2. Corrector (L.A. Girl HD Pro Conceal GC992 Green Corrector & L.A. Girl HD Pro Conceal GC990 Orange Corrector) - IDR 50.000,00/each at @makeupnous


If you have redness and dark circles, I recommend you to use corrector before applying foundation or concealer. I used green and orange correctors from L.A. Girl. Green is used to neutralize redness, as you can see in the color wheel, green and red are complementary colors. Orange is used to cover dark circles. Be careful when you apply orange corrector or your under eye will be full with orange. I only applied 3 dots then blended them with my fingers. I have green vein under my dark circles and when I applied the orange corrector, it pretty covered my vein. There are many reasons to love these products. The texture is pretty light and I feel that the coverage is light to medium on my skin. It is easy to be blended with fingers and the price is also friendly!


3. Concealer (Maybelline Fit Me - 25 Medium Moyen) - IDR 109.000,00 at Centro Department Store Margo City, Depok


As the woman who owns sensitive skin, the saddest thing I have is that I am not allowed to wear foundation as my complexion. You know, good makeup starts from a good complexion which I believe that foundation is the key. Actually I can still wear it but I don't want to hurt my skin. Instead of wearing foundation, I wore concealer from Maybelline Fit Me. I have heard some positive reviews from people especially those who have same skin type like mine. The texture is thicker than Maybelline Instant Age Rewind and the coverage is medium to full. My skin actually fits with 35 - Deep Forest, but the beauty assistant told me that concealer should be brighter. I thought that she might be true as we always know that foundation or concealer may oxidize. She recommended me the 25 - Medium Moyen. This shade is still fair on my skin but after wearing it for minutes, I felt that it became darker.


I used this Maybelline Fit Me Concealer as complexion. I have a very sensitive skin and every time I wear cosmetics, I just want my skin to look better with a thin layer of makeup. If you wanna know how to wear concealer as the complexion, you can watch some videos on youtube with the keywords "No foundation makeup", "Concealer Hacks", or "Concealer as foundation" then do the experiment.



4. Acne Loose Powder - IDR 122.000,00 at Prima Husada Cinere, Depok


This is my Holy Grail! I got it from my dermatologist. She said that I could wear loose powder for everyday makeup as long as the loose powder doesn't have fragrance as one of its ingredients. But you know, it was difficult to find the right one until my dermatologist said that she had it. It is pretty expensive but appropriates with the result. You know, having a loose powder to control your face oil is important. Loose powder is also used to set your concealer (watch the tutorial on youtube). For daily makeup, I just put sunscreen and this loose powder as my complexion. In my graduation makeup, I applied this loose powder to bake my orange corrector and concealer which I put under my eyes and set the whole makeup with this. I put it in my small bag and carried it for 5 hours on my graduation day. This acne loose powder is good at controlling my oily face for 4-5 hours and after that, I will do the touch up.


5. Eye shadow ( SilkyGirl Blockbuster Color Palette 07 Classic Chic) - IDR 59.000,00 at Dandan Store Depok


My eyebrows are thick and I have a funny experience when I use eye shadow. You know, I never and will never want to shape my brows and it makes the distance between my brows and eyes is quite close. I tried applying dark brown eye shadow on all over my lids and they looked creepy. I asked a friend who is a MUA and she said that it could be caused by the distance of my brows and eyes that is close. I immediately thought that it could be the reason why women shape their brows, but I personally don't want to.


I don't think that I should have eye shadow because I don't like playing with an eye makeup. But this is graduation and at least I should have one. I found SilkyGirl Blockbuster Color Palette 07 Classic Chic. Just like its name, this eye shadow palette is classic. It has 4 earth tone colors and perfect for medium to dark skin tone type like mine. I used orange as base and dark brown (next to orange) on my eyelids. The darkest one was used to fill my eyebrows and I didn't touch the brighter one at all. Well, this eye shadow is pigmented when you swatch it on your hand but when you apply it on your eyes, it doesn't seem like it needs to be. I sprayed water to my brush and took the color again but it didn't work either. The only thing I love about this product is that the darkest color can fill my brows.


After setting my complexion with loose powders, I thought that the look was too pale so I decided being naughty by applying the orange color as bronzer and it worked. This product was made for an eye makeup but in my case, it worked better on my cheeks. If you have the same palette, you can try it by yourself and let me know.



6. Top Coat/Mascara (Oh! M' Eye Lash Top Coat from Etude House) - IDR 50.000,00 at @etudekoreancosmetics


I have reviewed this product and you can see it on my previous post. I don't think that I should write the review and experience I have with this K mascara again but one thing that I would like to tell. I have two mascaras, it is Oh! M' Eye Lash Top Coat and Maybelline (would explain the product after this). Before making it as part of my graduation makeup, I had used this for days with Maybelline. I curled my lashes then applied this K mascara and layered it with Maybelline. Based on my experience, most of Maybelline's mascaras will easily smudge and this Etude House's product claims that it can keep the mascara from smudging. I tried approving by having 3 layers of mascaras (this K mascara - Maybelline - this K mascara). The final result made my lashes pretty clumsy but it claims what it claims. Although it smudged when I washed my face and wudhu, I didn't look like the girl who ruins her mascara by crying because of the boy.


7. Mascara (Maybelline Volum' Express Turbo Boost Mascara Waterproof) -

IDR 79.000,00 at Dandan Store Depok


Raise your hand if you have one (or two) Maybelline mascara in your makeup pouch! I am pretty sure that this brand is best known from its mascara and if I am not mistaken, the first product that was born from Maybelline was also mascara. There are so many types of mascaras that Maybelline has. Volum Express Hyper Curl, Hyper Curl Cat Eyes, Magnum Barbie Waterproof, Push Up Drama, Push Up Angel, Big Shot and others. My favorites are this Volum' Express Turbo Boost Mascara Waterproof and Push Up Drama but when I wanted to buy the Push Up Drama, my purse said that I should buy the cheaper one and it was Volum' Express Turbo Boost. The packaging reminds me of Black Panther and it is really handy. Actually the Push Up Drama works better on my lashes but this mascara is also good and this is one of Maybelline mascaras you can have for under IDR 100.000,00!


8. Loose Powder (Sariayu Martha Tilaar Bedak Tabur Plus Energizing Aromatic) -

IDR 16.000,00 at Giant Margo City, Depok


There are three shades of this loose powder. I used "Sawo Matang" for setting my whole makeup with my acne loose powder. The color is darker than my acne loose powder (well, my acne loose powder is transparent powder) and it fits my skin tone. Unfortunately, it contains fragrance and it is dangerous for my skin. The fragrance is not placed as the first ingredients but I better avoid it. I used it for 2 times and now I have two pimples on my left cheek. This is a very good product but I just can't use it.


9. Lip Balm (Vaseline Repairing Jelly) - IDR 19.500,00 at Guardian Store Cinere, Depok


Another HG (Holy Grail) of mine when it comes to lip protection! You can read my thoughts about this multi function product on my previous post.


10. Lipsticks (Rollover Reaction - Maxwell & Livv) - IDR 129.000,00/each


Final touch of my graduation makeup and final touch of other women. You know that I am a fan of Rollover Reaction and my personal favorites are Livv, Maxwell, and Rah, a metallic warm brown color and the newest edition of my RR's collections. I am planning to buy The Clique (Umma, Moss, and Livv) and Lizzy. Moss seems beautiful as an eye shadow (and it must be pigmented) and a friend of mine who owns Umma also told me that Umma is wearable as both eyeshadow and lipstick. Last but not least, I have to stock Livv again because I always wear it for my daily makeup and it already runs out :( well Lizzy looks pale on my lips but I have an idea to put Maxwell or Umma or Rah on it and create an ombre lips. Seems like I am too much consuming this but I am not tired of telling you that RR is the right lipstick I am looking for. I do have and wear other brands but my choice always goes with RR. But I also admit that there are some shades that aren't made for my skin tone such as Sally, Lucy, Prudence, Penny, and Grace. I may gonna say that I don't like the Flushed Set either (Orla, Thulian, Paloma) because they look wet and glossy but other shades win my heart.


I wore Maxwell first and layered it with Livv. It gave me warm reddish orange color (I guess Maxwell is stronger) and it fitted my skin tone. I wanted a stronger look on my lips and a touch of this combination said it all.




I think that my graduation makeup is pretty simple. No primer, no foundation, no blush on, even highlighter. This sensitive skin helps me save my money from buying those unnecessary kits and also keeps my back from pain :D (you know that makeup pouch can be heavy too). Remember what Rachel Goddard said "More skin care, less makeup" and other beauty brands which tell us that less is more!



P.S : Will update my portrait of wearing this makeup soon!



LOVE,

Vinda










bottom of page