top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

5 Beauty Hacks of Vaseline Repairing Jelly That Don't Work On Me

John Green once said this


"What the hell is instant? Nothing is instant. Instant rice takes five minutes, instant pudding in an hour."

If instant rice takes five minutes and instant pudding takes in an hour, how long does Vaseline Repairing Jelly need to prove that what the beauty vloggers say about its hacks are true........



to me?





Before the famous repairing jelly was launched in Indonesia, I had bought it from online. It was Vaseline Lip Therapy the rosy lips. I didn't buy it coincidentally. I was on Rachel Goddard's instagram and knew that she used Vaseline Lip Therapy to remove her matte lipstick. I got curious so I searched online shops that sold Vaseline Lip Therapy and I found one which seemed very reliable.


When the product arrived, I got surprised because I paid 50.000 + 9.000 for the delivery service and found that the product was very small. Of course it was only 7 gr just like the owner said, travel size. It was handy and I really liked to put it in my makeup pouch.


Although it was small, I could use it for 4 months (January - April 2017) . My lip was not dry and sometimes I felt like my lip color became brighter after applying it. Overall I really like the product but for me the price is too expensive as we know, it is an import product and only available at online but months ago, it was announced that the famous petroleum jelly was officially launched in Indonesia with the original one (other tastes are cocoa butter, creme brulee, and raspberry *cmiiw). It is available with 2 sizes, the 50ml and 100ml. Well, I never understand the difference between ml and gr LOL but I was pretty satisfied because I only paid 19.500 for the 50ml size.


There were many questions came from our people (inc. me of course) why the product was named after repairing jelly but it is clear now that repairing jelly is actually petroleum jelly. They are the same but in Indonesia, it is labeled with repairing jelly.


I personally think that the rosy lips and original are the same. They are sticky but somehow the original is more sticky and oily. Just like its name, the original has no fragrance which makes me prefer the rosy lips better but it is still okay for me.






There is no day left without applying the repairing jelly on my lip. Before putting my lipstick, I always apply the repairing jelly and drink two glasses of water. Just like using the rosy lips, the original also avoids my lip from becoming dry.


It is also said that Vaseline Repairing Jelly is used by women around the world to solve skin problems such as cracked heels, dry and rough elbows. A lot of beauty vloggers also discover some beauty hacks that can be done by this repairing jelly such as growing your eyelashes and eyebrows. I was very curious and tried them by myself for 2 weeks and found that the beauty hacks did not work on me.


As I mentioned already, here are 5 beauty hacks of Vaseline Repairing Jelly that don't work on me



1. Growing the eyelashes and eyebrows


Some beauty vloggers say that if you want to make your eyelashes and eyebrows thicker, you need to apply Vaseline Repairing Jelly on your eyelashes and eyebrows every night before you sleep. I followed what they said for 2 weeks and here's what I got : my right eyelid got swollen! Yup, I thought it was just a pimple but it was very hurt. I did not realize that it might be caused by Vaseline Repairing Jelly so I kept using it at night. The swollen eyelid was still there until I decided to stop applying the repairing jelly and the swollen eyelid became smaller until it deflated. Lucky that my eyebrows did not show any negative effect but they did not seem to get thicker. For me, it is just useless to apply this repairing jelly every night.



2. Repairing the cracked heels


I never wear sandals at home and rarely wear socks when wearing shoes. Those not so good habits make my heels cracked. I tried applying lotion after taking a bath and before going to sleep but they did not help. When I knew that Vaseline Repairing Jelly was a multi function product, I gave it a try by applying it over my heels twice a day just like applying the lotion as I used to. Guess what? It did not solve my heels problem at all. The first sensation was oily and soft. When I woke up I realized that my heels were softer but after I went out and did my activities, they just came back as cracked heels. I thought that the result was temporary.



3. Softening dry and rough elbows


Just like the cracked heels, Vaseline Repairing Jelly did not work on my dry and rough elbows. After using it for 2 weeks, I felt nothing changed. My elbows still stayed as dry and rough elbows. But I do not blame Vaseline for this because my elbows have been dry and rough since I was in kindergarten.



4. Making the perfume lasts longer


My perfumes are not the products I need to spend money for them. The most important thing for me is I need to be smelled fresh although the perfumes I use are cheap. I tried applying the multi function jelly over my clothes and sprayed my perfume but expecting the fragrance would last longer was actually useless. I sprayed the perfume in the morning around 8 but when I prayed at 1 pm and smelled my clothes, the fragrance was not there anymore. Was it because of the cheap perfume or the repairing jelly which just stayed for only 1-2 hours?



5. DIY lip scrub


DIY or Do It Yourself is my favorite activity if the ingredients are easy to be found. I read an article about DIY lip scrub that could be made by mixing Vaseline Repairing Jelly and sugar. I tried it twice but unfortunately it just got worse. The repairing jelly and sugar were not that easy to be mixed. I just found my lip became oily and full of sugar. I think that this DIY lip scrub does not work on me. To be honest, I prefer lip scrub by Emina as my favorite lip scrub.



Yup, it is sad to know that those beauty hacks don't work on me. But there are 3 activities I always do with Vaseline Repairing Jelly and they successfully make me amazed!



1. Using the repairing jelly as the lip balm


Yes, it works! I always apply Vaseline Repairing Jelly before putting my lipstick (especially lip cream) in the morning. In the day when I have a lunch or pray, I remove my lip cream first with micellar water then apply this repairing jelly over my lip. I leave it for 1-2 minutes and start applying my lip cream again. At night before sleeping, I also never forget to put Vaseline Repairing Jelly on my lip. Now I feel that my lip is getting smoother and moist. It totally works!



2. Moistening dry skin around my eyes and nose


Doctor Dewi Martini, my dermatologist once told me that the area near teardrop and around nose are the driest part of face. She said that I needed to be careful when washing my face and applying creams. I never did something on those areas until I did "an experiment" with my magic jelly and guess what? It actually worked! When those areas feel dry, I directly apply Vaseline Repairing Jelly until today and thank God that nothing happens.



3. Using Vaseline Repairing Jelly for scars


I have scars on my left middle finger since I was in grade 6. A lot of my friends or people I meet always ask what happens with that but I don't exactly remember . The only thing I remember is I was playing with two of my friends at courses. I fell to the floor and my left middle finger hit the chair. Since that incident, my left middle finger always felt itchy. I scratched it until scars came out. I went to the doctor and she gave me a cream. It actually covered my scars but I always felt itchy so I scratched it. My friends also gave me creams which worked like the doctor gave but the desire to scratch it always came. Yup, it's like I hurt myself but I just could not stand it. After buying the repairing jelly I tried applying it on my scars and it slowly but surely works! The itch I always feel also slowly disappears.





That is the story I have after using Vaseline Repairing Jelly for 2 months or can be said as my personal experience. These hacks may not work on me but they may work on others. If you find other hacks and work successfully on you, let me know :)




LOVE,

bottom of page