top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

Rollover Reaction SUEDED Lip and Cheek Cream : Livv (Review)

As you can see on the title, it's about the brand I wish I could join the team. Yup, it's Rollover Reaction!


You may think that I am gonna review this incredible lipstick based on my experience but no, I mean, yes it is going to be 100% based on what I feel but it is also gonna be what I see on another woman's lip. If you believe in the cold and warmth myth tones, congratulations, we are the same. And if you have the warm skin tone, congratulations again, because this review will probably help you.








There is no ending without beginning. I was introduced with Rollover Reaction or RR about three months ago at the beauty event. I swore I promised myself not to buy any cosmetics but RR broke it in a good way. I had no idea why I visited RR's booth and asked by the beauty assistant if she could help. I spontaneously took a shade called "Moss" and thanked myself that it did not work on my lip. I mean, the color which was claimed as the true brown could not cover my dark upper lip and it took longer time to wait until it's set to be matte (although RR until today does not claim its products as matte). I thought I hurt the beauty assistant by saying that RR was not the lipstick I was looking for but she kept smiling and told me that I could try other shades. I smiled to her and just went away.


After that, I was thinking. Why did I go easily without trying other shades as the beauty assistant told? I came back and could not believe that every woman was satisfied trying and buying the products there. I told myself, "OK, let's fight against the crowd!"


And here I am today. Loving the shade called "Livv" from the collection The Clique (Moss is also in it). There are three shades which are claimed to be the colors that inspired from the 90s. Umma the red, Moss the brown, and Livv the orange. If you realize this, their names are also inspired from famous celebs in that era. Uma Thurman, Kate Moss, and Liv Tyler.


Now I am telling you why I love Livv so much.




1. Color






I was the girl who always went with bold color such as burgundy until I find that orange is actually the right one for my skin tone. It is also said that orange is the color that shows calmness, happiness, and interest. So if you are afraid of wearing bold in the day, you can consider orange for the strong vibe. Lucky that our Rollover Reaction has Livv to be put in our makeup pouches and if you haven't bought it, go check its website and other reviews!


P.S: Livv is also the right one to cover my dark upper lip. It is the same with Umma but for me, Umma is the red I actually have from another brand so it is not that special but Livv and Umma are the easiest to be blended.



2. Formula


I think it will be intimidating if I mention some lipsticks that do not match my lip but there are some lipsticks that make my upper lip becomes darker, dry, and not that easy to be blended and removed. I looked for the problem until I am pretty sure that my lip is sensitive with Paraben. I can't make sure if it is true or not but it always happened everytime I wore lipsticks which contained Paraben in them.

But it is different with RR. It is claimed as the paraben-free and my lip never complains when I blend RR over it.



3. Longevity


If you do not drink or eat, the color will stay for 4-5 hours but it will make your lip a bit dry. I suggest you to put lip balm first and drink two glasses of water (or a bottle of Aqua) and continue to drink a glass of water every two hours. Besides avoiding the dry, it is also useful to get a healthy lip. The products actually will stick to the glass and straw, also fade when you wash your face but for me, it is not the problem. I better reapply than find my lip becomes dry.



4. The Concept






Nothing is happier than seeing people do something with their passion and that is the thing I see in RR's vision that creates this brand to be the most creative brand I have ever seen. From packaging, names of the shades, instagram's pictures until the formula, I can not believe that this is a local product! Although this can be said as the premium lipstick (from the price), believe me that it is all worth it!




Time to move to another woman's lip and the woman is none other than Syifa, an old friend of mine whom helped me as the model for my final project.


My final project is the photographs that visualize makeups inspired by the symbols of Greek Goddesses. If you are familiar with this, it is going to be easy for you to understand LOL. The Goddesses whom I took their symbols as the inspirations were Hera, Demeter, Aphrodite, Persephone and Artemis. Right now I am going to tell you about Demeter.


Demeter is the daughter of Kronos and Rhea. She has three brothers (Zeus, Poseidon, Hades) and two sisters (Hera and Hestia). Demeter is the goddess of fertility but a story also tells that she is the goddess of summer too. Demeter does not like living in Olympus so that she prefers to live on earth with human. She married to Zeus and they have a daughter called Persephone, goddess of spring.


One day when Persephone was walking around in the garden, Hades saw her and fell in love. Hades asked for permission to Zeus but Zeus was not sure if Demeter would allow. He then let Hades to take Persephone to Underworld in silence. Demeter got panic when she did not find her daughter. She became sad and so did the earth. The wheat did not grow, human got starving. Zeus did not want this situation to take longer so he sent Hermes to Underworld and tell Hades to release Persephone but Hades loved her so much. He did not want Persephone to go away so he gave her a pomegranate to be eaten.


Persephone came back to her mother and told that she was kidnapped by Hades. Demeter got angry when she knew that Hades gave her daughter a pomegranate to be eaten because whoever ate something in Underworld, must be be back to Underworld. Then the rule was made. Persephone would spend 4 months a year with her mother but in 4 months later, she must come back to Underworld. That is said to be the history of seasons as we know today. If Persephone comes to her, Demeter will be happy so the season will be spring and summer but if Persephone comes back to Hades, the earth will be filled with snow and we call it as "winter".


Now you know the story. And how did I take pictures of Syifa wearing makeup inspired by Demeter's symbols?



A story that tells Demeter is the goddess of summer is the answer. I asked Isye, my Makeup Artist (MUA) to make her face fresh by putting orange on her eyes, cheeks, and lip. I think you can guess what product I use for this look. Yup, it's Rollover Reaction with the shade Livv! Pssst, sorry for not telling you in the beginning but RR's products can also be used as eyeshadow and blush on! Isn't that sweet?

After wearing primer, corrector, foundation and loose powder, Livv was put perfectly on her face and here is the result.



Summer The Demeter. Photographed by Vindalia Annisa

MUA : Isye Komariani. Model : Syifa Noor Rizka.




The faux freckles helped to create summer look and it is suitable for you to try. Never be afraid to explore your blush like this one that called as the sunburn blush.


When Livv was put, Syifa saw it and said that she was in love too. She then took her phone and visited RR's website. She said that the colors stole her eyes and planned to buy some! Like what I already told, she also said that it was very comfortable to wear.


And that's the review I have. Hope these things I really LOVE will help you girls in finding the right lipstick!




Unedited Demeter. Photographed by Vindalia Annisa






LOVE,

bottom of page